rethinking my resolutions

I made five resolutions on January 1st.  I have been semi-successful in a couple of them and completely ignored the rest.  I haven’t kept up with my Bible study and journaling much at all.  I haven’t gotten back into yoga as much as I wanted.  I haven’t started dressing better (yoga pants are really pretty wonderful anyway).  I haven’t quit counting calories. I haven’t been dedicating much time to recovery…anyway, I want to rethink my resolutions.  I think I was a bit too ambitious and unaware of what I really wanted (?).  Now that all this stuff is going on with M, I’m seeing things, my whole life really, much differently than I was on January 1st.

Resolutions, Draft II:

1) quit counting calories.  fight the urge.  just eat.  eat well.  eat healthy.  eat dessert.  move on.

2) spend time reflecting, journaling, blogging, looking over counseling stuff, reading my Bible, and praying.  Do this at least 3-4 times a week.  As in sit down, eliminate distractions, and really think for at least 20-30 minutes.

3) Find a yoga studio and start attending class regularly, even if it is just once a week.  I want to find a yoga community.  I think I will really look forward to class each week if I can just get myself into the habit of going.  First step, find a studio.

4) Do one thing each week to move me closer to figuring out what I want to do with my life.  That could be almost anything: going to a career fair, emailing someone for info, setting up an interview, researching culinary schools, cooking, studying new foods, recipes, or ingredients, journaling (maybe even the “inner-child journaling” J is so wild about), signing up for a class, etc.

So there are the goals.  Resolutions if you will.  Notice that school isn’t even mentioned?  Yeah, thats on purpose.  I considered making “get all B’s this semester” my fifth resolution, but I don’t want to push myself too far too fast. 🙂   So for now I’m going to really focus on these things.

One Comment on “rethinking my resolutions”

  1. […] 8, 2010 in Uncategorized I’ve been doing mediocre (at best) with my revised New Year’s resolutions.  There’s only four of them and still I’m floundering.  Despite my serious lack of […]


Leave a Reply

