Facing Fears: 3/14-3/20

Sean couldn’t meet me for our usual long run this saturday.  I really didn’t want to miss out on the distance, but I also really didn’t want to go do 10 miles solo.  I tend to lag when I do distance alone.  One of the local running shops has a group that meets every Saturday morning for 10-12 mile runs.  I’ve thought about going many times, but the ideal of running a long distance with a group of strangers really intimidates me.  What if they’re all faster than me?  What if there’s no one in my pace group?  What if I have a bad day and can’t finish (I’ve never let that happen before but who knows)?

Anyway, I got almost no sleep, but I set my alarm for 6:30, scarfed down a Larabar, guzzled some water, had a few gulps of coffee and got in the car.  I made it to the shop just as the sun was rising.  I was greeted by a middle aged guy named Larry, one of those really hardened, ripped, running types.  He’s one of the shop owners I think.  He was really nice, invited me in, introduced me.  I stretched a bit and within moments we were off.  I didn’t even have to get in a pace group because we all just went together.  There were probably about 20 people.  Slowly, the speedy ones pulled ahead (some of them had already been running for an hour!)  I stuck with two women who were running just under 8 minute miles.  It was great to run with women!  I met a really nice lady named Heidi who has done SEVEN marathons and one 50K (yeah, thats an ultra).  We ran the whole 12 miles together and talked the whole way.  It was such a fun morning.  By the time I got back to the house, showered, and drank down my favorite post run drink (recipe to come!), I hardly remembered that I began the morning all nervous and afraid.  I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner.  Running is such fun…as are the endophins.

I’ve been contemplating a 25K…haven’t signed up yet, but I’m going to start training and see.  My training schedule is in the sidebar, to keep me accountable.

Leave a Reply

