Eat your greens

Since I’ve been at the hospital all day, I’ve been doing a lot of snacking in place of meals.  Not my preferred manner of eating.  No big deal (well at least it shouldn’t be, except that I’m a disordered eater, but I don’t really want to talk about that right now.)  Anyway, when I’m in my own kitchen and not a waiting room outside the ICU, I love me some salads.  Salads are really great in the spring and summer months when the temps start to climb, but I crave them almost as much in the winter as well.  Most people think all salads are the same: boring, unfillling, a meal-starter, not a meal in themselves.  But I have become a master of salad combinations.  My salads are tasty and filling.  Here are a few of the salads I’ve been fueling with lately…

The 5 G Salad: massaged kale, sprouted lentils, avocado, broccoli, and cilantro in a orange-tahini dressing.

The Walnut Salad: walnut pate (walnuts, carrots, Bragg’s) on a bed of spinach and massaged kale with Ezekiel tortilla chips on the side.

Sunshine Salad: Grilled Sunshine Burger on a bed of baby greens and kale, topped with roasted sweet potatoes (these are delicious on salads!)…with orange-tanini dressing again.

2 Comments on “Eat your greens”

  1. Koko Berube says:

    Salads are my favorite. l love combining various ingredients at random, depending on what l have on hand, just to see what goes with what. l just got a few new ideas here. Sometimes make a dressing, sometimes a bottled will do, but EVOO & balsamic vinegar are frequent ingredients, just a little brown sugar for sweet and maybe some herbs or minced garlic & onion. Or not. Here in Maine we like tiny newborn baby dandelions (it’s already too late) before they get bitter, maybe fiddleheads drizzled with my dressing & refrigerated. l have learned how to taste something in my mind, to see if it’s even feasible; sometimes l’m wrong, but experimentation keeps life interesting. Even my grandaughter loves salad, especially if she can choose what goes in it.

  2. Cole Jones says:

    Hi S:

    After reading your thoughtful post, I included a link to it on Sunshine Burger’s Facebook page. It set a new record for thumbs up. Congratulations! And thanks for showing our products in such a nice way.

    Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about our products. I would also like to send a coveted Sunshine Burger baseball to you to recognize your achievement (and help keep the sun out of your eyes during your marathon training)! You can contact us at info@sunshineburger.com.

    Best,
    Cole Jones
    General Manager
    Sunshine Burger


Leave a Reply

